Mountain Gorilla National Parks

The World’s Mountain Gorilla National Parks – Bwindi, Mgahinga, Volcanoes and Virunga National Park.

There are only 4 Mountain Gorilla National Parks in the World. At present, the estimated number is arround 1000 Mountain gorillas spread across the four national parks found in East and Central Africa.

The gorilla parks include Bwindi Impenetrable National Park and Mgahinga National Park in south-western Uganda. Others are Volcanoes National Park in the north of Rwanda and the Virunga National Park in the eastern side of the Democratic Republic of Congo. Out of the 1000 gorillas, Bwindi impenetrable National Park has the biggest population of the primates with half the numbers to it.

Bwindi also boasts of the largest number of gorilla families followed Volcanoes National Park in Rwanda. The two parks are trailed by Mgahinga with only one gorilla family and the Virunga National Park whose gorilla safari activities are minimal due to on and off insecurities.

Gorilla trekking is the major activity in all the four parks something that has greatly boosted the conservation efforts in saving the endangered primate species. All the parks have programmes in place geared towards the protection and survival of the mountain gorillas.

To get access to the gorilla parks, one must first book a gorilla permit through a safari operator who makes all the preparations of the trip to run successfully.

The parks are under the care and management of government bodies. In Uganda, Bwindi and Mgahinga National Park are under the Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA), a government body with monitoring, protection and management of wildlife attractions of Uganda.

The Volcanoes National Park is under the management and supervision of Rwanda Development Board (RDB). RDB is bigger government institution bringing together a several public sectors including thee country’s wildlife and environmental conservation plus tourism management.

The Virunga National Park is under the Congolese Institute for Nature Conservation (ICCN), semi-government authority charged with managing the protected areas in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The Only 4 National Parks where Mountain Gorillas live include:-

© 2018 - All Rights Reserved - Speedway Safaris Ltd - P.O Box 37400 Kampala Uganda, Plot 24 Suna/Nyanama Road, Off Kampala - Entebbe Airport Highway - Tel +256-772-381 544
Site Map | Uganda Safaris| Gorilla Trekking | Tours & Travel News | Contact Us | Privacy Policy & Terms of Use

Frontier Theme